Copyright 2020. Integrated Sensors, LLC. All rights reserved.


Integrated Sensors, LLC (I-S) was founded by Dr. Peter Friedman in 2004 as the first company in the world to apply the high gain, high-performance properties of low cost plasma-TV technology (i.e. plasma display panels) to radiation detection. This has resulted in the invention and development of the plasma panel sensor (PPS), which has been called a revolutionary technology by U.S. government scientists. The company has been awarded a number of government research contracts and collaborates with a variety of partners on PPS related programs.


In 2017, I-S initiated a new research program on ultra-fast transmissive (UFT) particle and photon beam monitors, which led to a government funded program in 2018 and collaboration with Loma Linda University and the University of Michigan. UFT-devices can monitor any type of ionizing beam for external beam radiation therapy (EBRT) and can operate either upstream (in vacuum) or downstream (in air) from the exit nozzle or multileaf collimator with exceptional performance capability. Results show order-of-magnitude advantages over ionization chambers for position resolution, readout time and beam hardening. UFT-beam monitors are also being developed for precision position (≤ 0.1 mm) and time-of-flight (≤ 100 ps) measurements in heavy-ion and rare isotope or exotic particle beam accelerators from B-10 (+5 charge) to U-238 (+62 charge) nuclei. Our collaboration partners for scientific applications include the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL), the DOE Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB, see figure below), and the University of Michigan (Physics Dept).


I-S founder and CEO, Dr. Peter Friedman, is an accomplished scientist with extensive experience in leading major ($70 million) research, development and manufacturing efforts. I-S holds the core intellectual property on both the UFT and PPS radiation detector technology with 18 U.S. and foreign issued patents and new patents pending. I-S has benefited from continuous R&D funding from the U.S. government since 2007, primarily from the U.S. Department of Energy (Office of Nuclear Physics) and the National Cancer Institute (NIH-NCI).